An older sister’s sentiment

IMG_7681.JPG

 

My dear little sister,

I write to you now typing with one hand on a small phone screen as the other smooths your hair while you drift off to sleep. It is in this moment I can forget that soon you will be 13 years old, for you will always be my little one.

Day by day you grow and as these moments drift in and out I can still see glimpses of your innocence. Nights like these are gentle reminders that you are still maturing and finding your way.

You walked into my room this evening with tears rolling down your cheeks, you gave a gentle salutation and went to your room without another sound; but then I heard your whimpers. I walked in your room and asked what was wrong, you said it was your head but I knew it was your heart. So I curled up next to you on your bed in the dark and held you until finally your eyes shut.

We fight a lot, you and I, but no matter how angry I get or how frustrating you can be you are my little baby. The one thing in this world I couldn’t bear to lose. But still I don’t think you realize how much I care, how much I am willing to care for you when our own mother turns the other cheek.

Tonight is the first night that I have realized this time next year I will be in the process of moving out and starting anew, and you will be on your way to high school; both of us starting new yet frightening chapters.

I just want you to know that whenever you need me, no matter how far away I seem, I will always come back to hold you in the dark and wait until you fall asleep.

Love always,

your big sister.

Leave a Reply

