EXODUS: 3

8cd328f624e5a1066d1bdd456019369a

You knew I loved puppies. No actually not loved–I LIVED for puppies; you watched me bemusedly as I gasped and made hushed squealing noises at each little ball of fluff and warmth. To contain my excitement I bounced from one foot to the other, shuffling between the top and bottom row as my fingertips strained beyond the caged fronts.

You told me to be careful and I simply scoffed at your words. How could I contain myself around so much cuteness? Before I could say this to you I heard the faintest whine directly above my head–my eyes landed on pure pup. The little cutie couldn’t have been more than a few months, its unkempt fur stuck out in all directions and its warm brown eyes seemed to mirror my own. I glanced over at you tapping away on your phone, seeing that you were distracted I kindly asked the puppy worker (you hated when I called them that) to bring this bundle of joy out to play.

They graciously complied and when you finally looked up I was holding the petite munchkin in my arms, beaming proudly at you. Your eyes darted between my face and the puppy for what felt like an eternity; I began to grow impatient and brought my attention to my new friend instead. His little teeth gnawed at the sleeve of

my shirt, I brushed my fingertip against his midnight fur gently–he was perfect.

That’s when I heard the camera shutter. I looked up and was genuinely surprised to see you snapping pictures of me with your phone, a small smile forming with each click. I shook my head and scrunched my nose up in embarrassment as I looked away from you. “Why are you doing that” I whispered frantically, trying not to disturb my little buddy nestled up in my arms. You didn’t answer, but continued to do your task–you laughed a little and I felt my heart soar.

We later left the store, sadly without my new little friend. As I sat there in the car with you–humming along to the radio–you grabbed my hand, gave it a squeeze and dropped it back into my lap. It was a small gesture, like the ones you did before, but I still felt my insides dissolve into jelly. You had this profound impression on me, and Lord knows I feared what would happen when this would end.

 

Please look at me like this forever 

Make me shudder with just a glance 

Let me feel your adoration grace my skin 

Give me this chance 

One more chance 

 

As promised, for every two posts I give you…AN EXODUS ENTRY!!! Sorry if this isn’t as good as the last two it was a kind of spur of the moment type of deal. I’m actually trying to produce multiple chapters at the moment so I have a readily available supply for you all. Also, I know I haven’t been doing personal messages on the other two and for that I apologize. Writing them was a little emotionally draining so…yeah. Anyway, I hope you enjoy and I hope YOU get to see a cute fuzzy animal as well.:)

-one girl

Leave a Reply

